Tags

, ,

One reader races pigeons. He originally asked about Geomagnetic storm alerts, https://ykalaska.wordpress.com/2006/09/20/geomagnetic-storm-alerts/
and discussed here- Pigeons, geomagnetic storms, and auroras

And then tried out the real-time maps of storms and whether that would improve his birds performance–

Hi Pam, Since I started using the information that you gave to me, my racing performance has gone up drastically. My losses are down and my winning is up. I send very few birds when the warnings are high, which result in fewer losses and when it is low I send a few more of the higher pedigree birds and the winnings are up. Thank you very much for your input. I will start racing again in August of this year and will keep you informed as to the results. I will definitely be using this information on my birds during their training this summer also, as I take them out as far as 100 miles on training tosses. thanks again.

Avian Navigation (pdf file)
Roswitha Wiltschko and Wolfgang Wiltschko
The Auk 126(4):717–743, 2009.
American Ornithologists’ Union, 2009. Special Reviews in Ornithology
http://www.aou.org/auk/reviews/review_126_4.pdf


Site Search Tags: , , , , ,