[thimk]

my Grandfather, a wonderful caring man from Halifax and Pittsylvania counties Virginia, refused to vote for John Kennedy– because Kennedy was Catholic. My parents could first vote for  a President in 1960, because of the 12-month residency restrictions on voting then (until the voting rights act).

At 7:01 PM Alaska time, just as California polls closed, I burst into tears.

I wasn’t prepared for my reaction. It’s been a long time since 1960. Let’s hope Nixon and the southern strategy are gone for good.

[Maybe science will come back?]

[revised] 2008-11-05T21:17:58
My mother voted for Kennedy. It was not because he was Catholic. Both my parents voted for Kennedy because they had lived in California when Nixon ran against Helen Gahagan DOUGLAS (1900 – 1980). Under no circumstances would they have voted for Nixon for anything after his campaign against her.
